Are you being accused of something you didn't do?
If you are being wrongfully accused of committing a sex offense in Ohio, then you need help! These days virtually any type of non-consensual contact or any type of sexual activity or communication with a minor (someone under eighteen) has been criminalized in Ohio. Unfortunately, a number of Ohio sex crimes are prosecuted as felonies, which means that if the defendant is convicted, they potentially face years behind bars, thousands of dollars in fines and mandatory sex offender registration. With false accusations for sex crimes, even perfectly innocent people such as yourself can be put away for something they did not do. Therefore, if you are being falsely accused of a sex crime, then you want to take these false accusations seriously because you don't want to end up convicted when you are innocent. While there is no excuse for committing sex crimes, tragically sex offenses are one of the few crimes that are frequently bases on false accusations and outright lies.
Sex Offender Registration
In Ohio, if you are convicted for a registerable sex offense, then you would be forced to register as a sex offender, which can be devastating to all aspects of your personal and professional life. In January of 2008, Ohio changed its Sex Offender Registration laws; Ohio became of the first states to adopt provisions from the Adam Walsh Act, which was signed into law in 2006. This Act has created a universal method for determining sex offender classifications, as well as the requirements for these classifications nationwide.
There are three "Tiers" of classifications for Sex Offenders. Tier 3 is the most serious and with a Tier 3 offense, the offender is required to register their address verification every 90 days for the rest of their life. Tier 3 offenses include rape, sexual battery, felonious assault with sexual motivation etc.
Tier 2 offenses require registration for 25 years with address verification every 180 days. Some Tier 2 offenses include compelling prostitution, gross sexual imposition victim under 13, child endangering, abduction with sexual motivation, pandering obscenity involving a minor and many others.
Tier 3 offenses require that the offender registers as a sex offender for 15 years with an annual address verification. Some Tier 3 offenses include: unlawful sexual conduct with a minor, voyeurism, sexual imposition, menacing and stalking with sexual motivation, and unlawful restraint and sexual motivation etc.
Understanding Sex Offenses
There are a number of criminalized sexual behaviors or acts under Ohio State laws. Sexual contact has to do with any type of touching of the erogenous zone of another person, including the thighs, or the breasts, or the buttocks for the purpose of sexual arousal for either person. Sexual activity refers to sexual conduct or sexual conduct, or both.
Under Section 2907.03 Sexual Battery, a person cannot engage in sexual conduct with another if they coerce the other person to submit, or if the offender knows the other person is impaired, or if the other person is unaware of what's going on, or if the other person thinks the offender is their spouse, or if the offender is the victim's natural or adoptive parent, or the stepparent, or the guardian, or someone acting as the victim's parent, or if the offender is a teacher, or if the offender is a cleric, or a coach, or a mental health professional, anyone guilty of this section commits sexual battery, which is a felony of the third degree. A third degree felony is punishable by from 9 months to 30 months in prison, and a $10,000 fine.
One of the common sexual offenses is Section 2907.06 Sexual Imposition. Under this section, no person shall have sexual "contact" with another if the offender knows the contact is offensive to the other person, or if the other person submits because they are unaware of the sexual contact, or if the offender is a mental health professional, or if the alleged victim is thirteen but less than sixteen. Sexual Imposition is a misdemeanor of the third degree which typically involves several months in jail and several hundred dollars in fines.
Fight Your False Allegations!
There are a number of sex offenses in Ohio, many of which involve jail or prison sentencing and fines ranging from hundreds to thousands of dollars. Due to the fact that your reputation, your career, and your future are at risk, you cannot believe that the "truth will set you free" because with sex offenses, this is not always the case. Often times sex cases rely heavily on the alleged victim's testimony, and if that person is lying, then you need an aggressive defense attorney from The Law Office of Brian Jones, LLC. We understand the sensitive nature of these types of allegations and we will handle your case with the utmost confidentiality, respect, and care. Give us a call today to schedule your private consultation with a member of our legal team because your freedom and your good name have to be protected at all costs!