Ohio Assault Defense Attorney
Reasons To Choose Us
We are recipients of a 10/10 “Superb” Avvo rating
In Ohio and across the nation it is illegal to threaten another person
or touch another person in a manner that would be perceived as offensive
or that would make that person feel as if they are in imminent danger.
When someone does "assault" another person, they are guilty
of committing a serious crime. Due to the serious and sensitive nature
of your case, it is imperative that you enlist the services of a competent
attorney who can ensure that your side of the story is heard loud and
clear before the investigators, the prosecution and a judge. Contact The
Law Office of Brian Jones, LLC today to begin building your aggressive defense.
Assault is defined as causing or attempting to cause bodily injury to another
individual, including an unborn child, and is considered to be a crime
of violence. The victim of the situation is often harmed or placed in
the imminent fear of being harmed.
Simple assault is a first degree misdemeanor. It is often punishable with
up to 6 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. Vehicular assault and
aggravated vehicular assault may be charged as a misdemeanor if the driver
was merely negligent. Generally, there is no mandatory jail time for cases
like these. If the driver was breaking any form of the law, whether speeding
or driving under the influence, the offense may be charged as a felony
causing the consequences to become more severe.
When Does Assault Become A Felony?
Assault becomes a felony under certain conditions, such as in cases of
injury to police officers or public servants, or attempting to cause injury
with a deadly weapon. Felonious assault is a more serious crime than assault
or aggravated assault. It may be charged when serious harm is caused and
/ or when committed with a deadly weapon. Aggravated assault is generally
charged as a fourth-degree felony as it is only slightly less severe than
a felonious assault. It is punishable by 18 months to 6 years in prison
and fines up to $5,000. Potential penalties for a second-degree felony
assault include 2 to 8 years in prison and fines up to $20,000.
We Represent Clients Throughout Central Ohio
If you are facing charges of assault or felonious assault in Delaware or
in the surrounding areas of central Ohio, we strongly recommend that you
contact an experienced lawyer at our firm as soon as possible. We will
review your case, evaluate what needs to be done, and provide the legal
assistance needed to get started on your defense. Ours is a small, intimate
firm that provides responsive attention to your needs and concerns and
will go to work immediately to tailor a defense strategy on your behalf.
Begin Building Your Defense Today