Delaware County Assault & Felonious Assault Attorneys
Making Sure Your Rights Are Secured in Franklin County, Union County, Marion County, & Morrow County
In Ohio and across the nation, it is illegal to threaten another person or touch another person in a manner that would be perceived as offensive or that would make that person feel as if they are in imminent danger. When someone does assault another person, they are guilty of committing a serious crime. Due to the serious and sensitive nature of your case, it is imperative that you enlist the services of a competent attorney who can ensure your side of the story is well-presented.
At The Law Office of Brian Jones, our lawyers defend the rights of people who have been accused of many types of violent criminal charges. You can contact our office to start building your defense.
Call our assault and felonious assault attorneys in Delaware County at (740) 883-3400 to schedule an appointment.
What Do I Need to Know About My Assault Charge?
Assault is defined as causing or attempting to cause bodily injury to another individual, including an unborn child. The victim of the situation is often harmed or placed in the imminent fear of being harmed.
Simple assault is a first-degree misdemeanor. This charge is punishable by up to six months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. Vehicular assault and aggravated vehicular assault may be charged as a misdemeanor if the driver was merely negligent. There is no mandatory jail time for assault involving a vehicle. If the driver broke any other laws, such as speeding or driving under the influence, the assault offense may be charged as a felony.
Is My Assault Charge Considered a Felony?
Assault becomes a felony under certain conditions, such as in cases of injury to police officers or public servants or attempting to cause injury with a deadly weapon. Felonious assault is a more serious crime than assault or aggravated assault. Aggravated assault is generally charged as a fourth-degree felony, as it is only slightly less severe than a felonious assault. It is punishable by 18 months to six years in prison and fines up to $5,000. Potential penalties for a second-degree felony assault include two to eight years in prison and fines up to $20,000.
“You and your staff were very helpful, kind, and were always available when I had a question.” - Josh V.
“They treated us like family clearly intent on listening, understanding and providing the best direction.” - Tony W.
“Brian is my go to guy! He is always available.” - Kathleen M.
If you are facing charges of assault or felonious assault, contact our firm as soon as possible. We will review your case and provide the legal assistance needed to get started on your defense.
Call us at (740) 883-3400 or send us a message to schedule an appointment. Se habla español.