Delaware County Weapon Charges Lawyers
Laws relating to weapons have become much more complicated over the last decade. Gone are the days of carrying a gun openly anywhere or owning certain types of firearms. Today, many Ohio laws have been established regarding guns and other weapons and it can be difficult for you to know the specifics of the laws or when you are in violation.
If you have been charged with violating the state’s weapon laws, it’s vital that you seek legal assistance as soon as possible. Weapon offenses can happen to anyone and a conviction can cause a loss of your civil rights. At The Law Office of Brian Jones, we defend people in central Ohio from many types of criminal charges, including those that are based on guns and other weapons. We welcome the opportunity to advise and/or represent you in these matters.
Discuss your legal needs and concerns with a Delaware County weapon charge attorney at The Law Office of Brian Jones. We can be reached online or at (740) 883-3400.
Weapons Charges in Ohio
Weapons laws are covered under Chapter 2923 of Ohio’s Laws & Administrative Rules.
This Chapter covers such weapon categories as:
- Concealed carry by a qualifying adult
- Carrying concealed weapons
- Illegal conveyance of deadly weapons
- Concealed handgun definitions
- Application and licensing process
- Transporting or storing firearms
- Using weapons while intoxicated
- Underage purchase of firearms
- Improper discharge of a firearm at or into a home or in a school safety zone
- Hidden compartments in vehicles
- And more
Examples of weapons crimes include knowingly carrying a concealed handgun without a license. This is charged as a misdemeanor which carries a penalty of six months in jail and fines of up to $1,000. It is also a crime to carry any other type of concealed or deadly weapon, with or without a license. This, too, is charged as a misdemeanor with increased penalties if you have a previous conviction.
If you are caught using or possessing a weapon while intoxicated, you may also be charged with a misdemeanor punishable by the same penalties as above. If the weapon was loaded, you may be charged with a felony resulting in six to 18 months in prison and fines of up to $5,000.
The laws concerning using a weapon while in a motor vehicle can be complicated. If you transported or discharged a firearm while in your vehicle, you may be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the facts of the case. For example, you can be charged with a fourth-degree felony if you have a loaded gun that can be accessed by anyone in the vehicle. All of the circumstances surrounding the arrest, any previous criminal history, and your state of mind at the time of the incident will determine the charge and the consequent penalties.
Ohio also prohibits the carrying of a concealed handgun in certain places, such as churches, government buildings, school properties, school buses, and colleges and universities.
“I was confident they do not simply want my money, what they want is to provide competent counsel.” - Patrick J.
“Brian was straight forward and to the point letting us know up front what was going to happen.” - Dale C.
“The team showed great professionalism and determination throughout the duration of the case.” - Michael B.
Being charged with a weapon or gun violation in Ohio can be a frightening experience. These types of offenses are prosecuted aggressively and may result in harsh penalties. If this is your first experience with the criminal justice system, you may be especially nervous and worried about your future.
Because each weapons charge is different with its own set of circumstances, it is important that you consult with a practiced weapons crime attorney at our firm to get specific legal advice and to strategize your defense as soon as possible.
Call us today at (740) 883-3400 to get started.